Divorce information packets for sale
Please see “Divorce in Colorado” for:
- suggestions about counseling
- statewide domestic violence resources, and
- an overview of Colorado divorce statutes.
Local domestic violence resources
In the El Paso County vicinity, some resources to help with domestic violence include:
- Colorado Springs Police Department contact info;
- El Paso and Teller Counties Sheriff Offices;
- City of Fountain Domestic Violence Awareness Team.
Free clinics available
According to this judicial services page, people without attorneys can attend free clinics:
These are free clinics for individuals representing themselves in divorce and other domestic legal actions.
Overview of divorce process and initial forms. An attorney is present to answer questions and help fill out forms. First and Third Thursday of every month, Jury Assembly Room #W113, 1st Floor in the West Tower, El Paso County Courthouse, 12:00 – 1:30 p.m.
The Pro-Se II has been cancelled.
Pro Se Self Help Center
The Self-Help Center has divorce forms, pro se custody packets and other information. Open daily from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM Mondays – Fridays. Located in the Room S101 of the Clerk’s Office, El Paso County Courthouse. Telephone: (719) 448-7710. Click here to e-mail the Self Help Center
The law library is located at the Pike Peak Library 20 North Cascade, Colorado Springs, CO 80903, (719) 531-6333. It contains statutes, case law and other resources. The statutes may also be found at the Colorado Springs Public Library.
Oddly enough, info packets are for sale, such as $25 for the Dissolution of Marriage (one for “without children” and another for “with children), and the court encourages pro se litigants to purchase those packets.
Court provides basic information online
However, The El Paso County Combined Courts offers some basic online information:
To commence your divorce action:
You must have been a resident of Colorado for the previous 90 days.
You [or your attorney] must file the Petition and Summons with the Clerk in room S101 and pay the appropriate filing fee. The filing fee for a dissolution of marriage involving children is $280.00 The filing fee for a dissolution without children is $230.00.
You [or your attorney] must then arrange to have the Summons served on the other party.
The statute requires that there is a 90-day waiting period from the date of service before the divorce is final. This will allow you time to complete the remainder of your requirements and paperwork.
If there are children of the marriage, it will be necessary for you to set a hearing. Please refer to your instruction packet for information on setting hearing dates.
Please remember that the District Court requires an original and one copy of all documents filed with the Court.
Persons filing divorce who have children are required to attend a parent education class within 45 days of filing the divorce action.
A Parent Education class is available on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month starting at 5:30 pm and another class is held on the 3rd Friday of each month from noon to 1:30pm. The classes are held in Room W113 of the Judicial Building at 270 S. Tejon. In order to receive credit for this class you will need to sign in with your case number. If you fail to bring this information, you may not receive credit.
Bar association offers limited free services
The El Paso County Bar Association sponsors “call a Lawyer” and “Ask a Lawyer” free clinics at various times; see their page and scroll to”Legal Services.”
District court warns pro se litigants
In the district court’s domestic relations orders, the court cautions potential pro se litigants: “If you choose to represent yourself, you are required to follow the same procedures as parties represented by attorneys. You should obtain from the Court Clerk’s office the packet of forms and instructions for self-represented parties. For parties seeking a divorce or legal separation, the Court recommends that you attend the ‘Pro Se Help’ clinic.”
We can help. If you’re ready to begin the search for a compatible, well trained, experienced divorce attorney, you can start with our free case evaluation. If you need more information, please browse our site, using the tabs at the top of the page.
Latest posts by admin (see all)
- Getting a divorce in Madison - November 30, 2011
- Florida reader asks: What do I do when my spouse won’t sign the papers? - November 30, 2011
- Getting a divorce in Laredo - November 30, 2011